Etheria 2019 has come and gone with our most amazing year YET.

Director/Writer Gigi Saul Guerrero was interviewed by about the 2019 Etheria Feature Film Selection “Culture Shock” from the Blumhouse TV & Hulu horror series Into the Dark, while Entertainment Weekly’s Clark Collis got this great quote from Guerrero “I think it’s everybody’s horror story, at the end of the day, what’s going on today,” said Guerrero, talking about her movie’s topical nature. “I just wanted to speak about it.” The screening at the world famous Egyptian Theatre in Hollywood, California was followed by a Q & A with Guerrero and actors Richard Cabral, Martha Higareda, Ian Inigo, Oscar Camacho, Felipe de Lara, Daniel E. Mora, and Barbara Crampton conducted by film programmer Edda Manriquez (Les Femmes International Underground Film Festival). Watch the Q and A on Facebook!

 Gigi Saul Guerrero being kissed by her parents, Fabiana and Raul Saul, on the red carpet at Etheria 2019 for her screening of "Culture Shock"

Gigi Saul Guerrero being kissed by her parents, Fabiana and Raul Saul, on the red carpet at Etheria 2019 for her screening of “Culture Shock”

The Red Carpet and Cocktail Reception in Courtyard was sponsored by ShudderBlumhouseVing VodkaFounders BrewingIced Above, and Topo Chico. At it rocked! Check out just some of the red carpet photos at Getty Images – can you find yourself?


Roger Corman and Gale Anne Hurd at Etheria 2019
When the evening showcase began, Gale Anne Hurd (“Terminator” trilogy) was awarded the Etheria 2019 Inspiration Award from special guest presenter Roger Corman, who just happens to be Hurd’s mentor. Watch Roger’s Presenting and Gale’s Acceptance Speeches on Facebook!

We were super proud to award Ines de Los Santos with the 2019 Stephanie Rothman Fellowship Award for her pilot “Exorcism 101”. The monetary award was presented by Rebekah McKendry (Shock Waves Podcast, Fellowship founder), Lizz Marshall (2018 recipient) and Stephanie Rothman (fellowship namesake). Watch Ines win the Fellowship on Facebook!

The short films were followed by a Q and A with Valerie Steinberg (“Hair Wolf”), Trae Harris (“Hair Wolf”), Sarah K. Reimers (“Bitten”), Ivy Liao (“Cupid’s Paradise”), Elaine Mongeon (“Good Morning”), Chelsea Lupkin (“Lucy’s Tale”),Sarah Kalagvano (“Lucy’s Tale”), Andrea Martina (“Cupid’s Paradise”), Jessica Sanders (“End of the Line”), and several other of the films producers conducted by Rebekah McKendry (Shock Waves Podcast). Watch the Q and A on Facebook!





Audience Award ballots were passed out and collected before the Q and A was over, cementing “Good Morning” as the official Audience Award.











The BloodList sponsored the 2019 Etheria Jury Award – voted on by numerous industry professionals, and we’re excited to announce that “Hair Wolf” was the winner.







Then we all headed on over to The Pig N Whistle for our Official Afterparty where there was a conga line and mad partying.



Etheria wants to thank all of our amazing supporters!

Thank you to our Reception Sponsors Blumhouse TV, Shudder, Ving Vodka, Founders Brewing, Topo Chico, Iced Above, and Women of Color Unite for the kick-ass party!

Thank you to our Award Sponsors The BloodList, Final Draft, Poltergeists and Paramours, The Miskatonic Institute of Horror Studies, and Fangoria Magazine for providing awards!

Thank you to The American Cinematheque’s Margot Gerber, Grant Moninger, Nancy Winters, James Branscome, Gwenael Deglise, John Hagelston, Chris LeMaire, Eduardo Sanchez, Andrew Crane, Tom Cohen,and Barry Jones for allowing us to do this every year.

Thank you to our Community Sponsors David Markland and Norm (Midsummer Scream), Bill and Julie Philputt (Days of the Dead), and Jill Gevargizian and Scary Gary (Slaughter Movie House).

Thank you to The Pig and Whistle for hosting our Afterparty.

A huge shout-out to the legendary Roger Corman and Gale Anne Hurd! As well as Cynthia Brown, Lyndsey Miller, and Sarah Ivy Dickerson.

Thank you to all of our shockingly talented judges John Skipp, Phillip Kobylanski, Rachel Talalay, Kailey Marsh, Stephanie Rothman, Sean Keller, Sarah Nicklin, Sean Decker, Jonathan Barkan, Amanda Reyes, Kier-La Janisse, Kevin Tenney, Anthony Diblasi, Ken Hall, Buddy Giovinazzo, Lloyd Kaufman, Anastasia Elfman, Richard Elfman, Jace Anderson, Mary C. Curtis, Jesse Merlin, Scott Bradley, Paul Feig, Jonathan Barkan, Erin Maxwell, Brad Miska, Shaken Berenson, Raquelle David, Rachel Feldman, Peter Block, Bryan Fuller, Andrew Crane, Rolfe Kanefsky, Robin Jones, and Gale Anne Hurd.

Thank you to The Shock Waves Podcast hosts Rebekah McKendry, Rob Galluzo, Ryan Turek, and Elric Kane, and to Blumhouse and Stephanie Rothman for their support of the Stephanie Rothman Fellowship!

Thank you Edda Manriquez for conducting our “Culture Shock” Q and A!

Thank you to Jim Kunz, epic DCP maker and editor.

Thank you Paula Haifley for making sure our bar ran smoothly, and to Gabby Graves, Dee Mead and Wes Alley for their reception help.

Thank you to Melanie Marquez for the fabulous press, Robert Enger for the fabulous photos, and Jessica Jimerson for her fabulous artwork.

We thank and appreciate all the attendees, filmmakers, and fans that provide support year round for Etheria
See you in 2020!